“Bondye te voye ou!”

Welcome to my new blog!  I will start with a brief introduction and background for those of you who do not know our story.

On April 22nd, my husband Dave and I moved to Thomazeau, Haiti to work with LiveBeyond, something we have been working towards for the last 3 years.  I am a [new] Certified Nurse-Midwife and Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner and I have taken over the Maternal Health Program. Dave is the Mission Trip Coordinator and Base Manager.  We have only been here a few days, but we feel so at home and at peace.

The Lord has already shown me so many reasons why I am needed here- from multiple stories of mothers dying to starving babies.  Yesterday was third trimester day in the Maternal Health clinic.  After seeing all the women for their visits (we do Centering-style care), I asked one of the translators to inform all of the women that I am staying in Haiti and that they can come to the clinic to have their babies instead of having them at home.  There was immediately a bunch of yelling in Creole and I didn’t know if they were glad or confused or telling me to go home.  Then, one very-pregnant lady walked up to me and said, “Bondye te voye ou!”.

“God has sent you!”

Oh, if she only knew!  [Matthew 28:19]

There is so much more background about how we got to this point, but that’s too long for this post.  I will try to keep this blog updated with stories of life in Haiti, interesting medical cases I see and of course photos.  I hope you enjoy!  Bondye beni nou!

4 Comments

  1. I am sure I sound really cheesy, but i love your profession. I have always had a keen interest in such work but never had the chance to talk to anyone in your profession. I m very excited. You understand, right? Finally, someone I can turn to for advice. And please do post more…

    Like

  2. I love your work. I myself have an interest in such work. But, so far have never had the opportunity to meet someone involved in charity from medical point of view. I know it sounds really cheesy, but just so excited to finally find someone… I hope you understand.

    Like

Leave a Reply

